NAPT School Bus Driver Training & Safety Award

The School Bus Driver Training & Safety Award, sponsored by IC Bus, was created to enhance school bus driver training by recognizing school districts/companies who have exemplary driver-training programs.

Congratulations to our 2023 School Bus Driver Training & Safety Award Winner Peggy Stone, CDPT, CSNT!

Guidlines for Nomination

Districts/Companies that have an employee who has been an NAPT member in good standing for at least three (3) consecutive years are eligible to receive this award.

Award Description

The recipient will receive the following:

  • Full Delegate Registration to the NAPT Conference & Trade Show 
  • Hotel accommodations for up to five (5) nights (generally Friday through Tuesday) as reserved by NAPT 
  • Meal allowance for meals not covered by the conference ($150; must provide receipts at end of conference)
  • Mileage/Flight reimbursement ($500 max; must provide receipts at end of conference)
  • Grant for $500; the grant money must be used to enhance driver training within the district/company.


A representative of the NAPT Awards Committee will notify the recipient whenever an award winner is identified.

Nomination/Application Requirements

  • Endorsed by a minimum of two (2) additional colleagues.

Nominations will open in early 2024; award winners will be honored at the 2024 Annual Conference and Trade Show in Oklahoma City, OK.

Congratulations previous recipients!

1990 - Poway USD, CA
1991 - Denton ISD, TX
1992 - Grapevine/Colleyville ISD, TX
1993 - Methacton School District, PA
1994 - Wissahickon, PA
1995 - Kentucky Department of Education, KY
1996 - Santa Barbara, CA
1997 - MSD of Wayne Township, IN & Union County Board of Education, KY
1998 - Spring ISD, TX
1999 - Chicago Public Schools, IL
2000 - Seneca Falls School District, NY
2001 - School District of Hillsborough Co, FL
2002 - California Department of Education, CA & Harford County Public Schools, MD
2003 - Shelby County School District, TN
2004 - Lake Shore Central Schools, NY
2005 - School District of Hillsborough Co, FL
2006 - Harford County Public Schools, MD
2007 - Spotsylvania County Schools, VA
2009 - Troup County School System, GA
2011 - Allen ISD, TX
2012 - Columbus City Schools, OH
2013 - Allen ISD, TX
2014 - Casey's Kustoms LLC, SC
2015 - Marietta City Schools, GA
2016 - Fred Anness, OH
2017 - Brockport CSD, NY 
2018 - Jimmy Lacy, WV
2023 - Peggy Stone, WV