NAPT® Sees New Board Leadership

We are pleased to announce the results of the 2022 NAPT® election. Thank you to all who cast their votes and congratulations to the winners.
"It has been an exciting week for NAPT® with Molly McGee Hewitt taking the reins as Executive Director and CEO and an election that brought new and seasoned volunteer leaders to the NAPT® Board of Directors. I look forward to working alongside this dynamic and innovative group of professionals who, without a doubt in my mind, will advance the NAPT® mission forward," said NAPT® President, Rick Grisham, E.d.S..

The results of the 2022 NAPT® election are:
  • Teena Mithcell, CDPT, CSNT, (SC) President-Elect
  • Peter Lawrence, Ed.D, CDPT, (NY) Region 1 Director
  • Alex Spann, CDPT, (TN) Region 2 Director
  • Athena Gerzanic, (WY) Region 5 Director
"I am pleased to welcome Athena and welcome back Teena, Peter, and Alex to the NAPT® Board," said Molly McGee Hewitt, PhD, CAE, NAPT® Executive Director and CEO. "These individuals bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to our leadership; each of them will be a tremendous asset to the future of our association. Please join me in welcoming each of them."
Teena Mitchell, CDPT, CSNT, Transportation Supervisor for the Greenville County Schools (SC) was elected by acclamation to complete her term (one year) as the NAPT® President-Elect (currently acting) before becoming NAPT® President for a 2-year term.

"It has been an honor to serve on the NAPT® board for the past several years as Region 2 Director, where I had the opportunity to be part of developing our new strategic plan," says Mitchell. "My vision for NAPT® is to expand upon our well established educational resources, pushing us further than we have ever been before on the national stage."

Mitchell is a NAPT® Certified Director of Transportation (CDPT) and NAPT® Certified in Special Needs Transportation (CSNT), she is a NHTSA certified Child Passenger Safety Technician. She has developed and manages a comprehensive Special Needs Safety & Training Program and oversees remedial, in-service & new hire Special Needs training for her school system, she conducts training for other districts too. In addition, she serves on the SCAPT Board of Directors.
Peter Lawrence, Ed.D., CDPT, Senior Consultant for Pupil Transportation Safety Institute (PTSI) (NY), was reelected to serve as the NAPT® Region 1 Director. Lawrence outpolled Karim Johnson, CDPT, CSNT, NYCDT, Director of Student Transportation & Fleet Services, Bethlehem Central School District (NY).

Lawrence previously served two terms; this will be his final term on the board where he will represent Connecticut, Delaware, Europe, Maine, Massachusetts, Middle East and North Africa, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Quebec, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, D.C.
Alex M. Spann, CDPT, Transportation Consultant for the State of Tennessee, Department of Education (TN) ran unopposed and was therefore elected by acclamation to serve as the NAPT® Region 2 Director.

Spann previously served one year of his term as Acting NAPT® Region 2 Director; he will serve out the remainder of this three year term beginning immediately where he will represent Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ontario, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia.
Athena Gerzanic, Director of Transportation, Carbon County School District #1 (WY) was elected to serve as the NAPT® Region 5 Director. Gerzanic outpolled Heather Philp, Senior Director of Transportation, Anchorage School District (AK).

Gerzanic will succeed Theresa Anderson, TM Anderson Consulting LLC (CO); she will serve a three year term beginning immediately where she will represent NAPT® members in Alberta, Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Saskatchewan, Utah, Washington, West Pacific (includes China, Japan, Singapore), Wyoming.
A special note of thanks to Theresa Anderson for her longstanding commitment and outstanding contributions to the Board. Your fellow Board members and the staff will miss you, Theresa. We wish you nothing but the best in the future. Thank you again for your help and support.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the election, particularly the candidates. Congratulations again to Teena, Peter, Alex, and Athena.