NAPT Special Needs Transportation Award

This award, sponsored by Q'Straint/Sure-Lok, was established to give special recognition to an outstanding individual specifically involved in the direct delivery of service in the area of special needs transportation.
Congratulations to our 2023 Special Needs Transportation Award Winner Kenny Mulder, CDPT!

Guidelines for Nomination

Transportation directors, supervisors, drivers, aides and/or other auxiliary personnel with a minimum of three (3) years experience in the area of special needs transportation are eligible for nomination. The candidate shall have been a member of NAPT for a minimum of three (3) years.

Award Description

The recipient will receive the following:

  • New in 2019! Enrollment in Q'Straint/Sure-Lok's Securement 101 online training course for the recipient district's drivers
  • Full Delegate Registration to the NAPT Conference & Trade Show 
  • Hotel accommodations for up to five (5) nights (generally Friday through Tuesday) as reserved by NAPT 
  • Meal allowance for meals not covered by the conference ($150; must provide receipts at end of conference)
  • Mileage/Flight reimbursement ($500 max; must provide receipts at end of conference)
  • Grant for additional education ($500); funds must be used for education/training purposes (NAPT Summit, online PDS, state association conference, or accredited secondary education courses)


A representative of the NAPT Awards Committee will notify the recipient whenever an award winner is identified.

Nomination/Application Requirements:

  • Submitted by an NAPT member, or key district administrator
  • Endorsed by a minimum of 2 additional colleagues

NAPT Special Needs Transportation Award Nomination Form

Award winners will be honored at the 2024 Annual Conference and Trade Show in Oklahoma City, OK.


Congratulations previous recipients!

1993 - Jeanette Wolford, PA
1994 - Emily Durgin Czyz, PA
1995 - Altha Thrasher, TX
1996 - Peter Grandolfo, IL
1997 - Kentin Gearhart, IN
1998 - Alexandra Robinson, CA
1999 - Shirley Francis, MO
2000 - Terry Voy, IA
2001 - Alice Griffin, FL
2002 - Dr. Ray Turner, TX
2003 - Kathleen Furneaux, NY
2004 - Michael Livingston, FL
2005 - Debra Rike, TN
2006 - Roseann Schwaderer, VA
2007 - Sue Shutrump, OH
2008 - Charley Kennington, TX & Cheryl Wolf, IN
2009 - Randy McLerran, OK
2010 - Marisa Weisinger, TX
2012 - Victoria Creech, FL
2013 - Dr. Linda Bluth, MD
2015 - Kala Henkensiefken, MN
2016 - Launi Harden, CDPT, UT
2017 - Teena Mitchell, CSNT, SC
2018 - Peggy Stone, WV
2019 - Therese Pelicano, MD
2023 - Kenny Mulder, MO