America's Best

Each year the National Association for Pupil Transportation (NAPT) holds the America's Best Training & Skills Challenge, and this year's event will again be held in conjunction with NAPT's 44th Annual Conference: Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. in Kansas City, MO October 27-30. Learn more about this year's annual conference by visiting our website, You can also download the 2018 America's Best brochure here.

Click here for the 2018 America's Best registration form

For years the America's Best program has offered training and a skills challenge for the technicians and inspectors in the school bus industry. By bringing this unique event together with NAPT's Conference, participants have access to the premier school transportation conference in the nation. In addition to hands-on training through the America's Best program, we offer dozens of different workshops specifically designed for technicians and inspectors! Plus, participants have an opportunity to connect with all of the vendors involved in NAPT's Trade Show.

2018 America's Best Schedule

(subject to change)

Friday, October 26
1pm Program Check-In
7pm Orientation & Welcome Reception

Saturday, October 27
9am-4pm Training
4-5pm Exams
7pm Evening Event in conjunction with NAPT Conference

Sunday, October 28
8am-12pm Hands-on Competition
12pm-5pm Education & Training Sessions in conjunction with NAPT Conference
7pm Evening Event in conjunction with NAPT Conference

Monday, October 29
8am-5pm Education & Training Sessions in conjunction with NAPT Conference
Presentation of Winners (TBD)

Tuesday, October 30
9am-3pm NAPT 44th Annual Trade Show

Congratulations 2017 Winners!

  • 1st place — Bryce Ivie — Utah Highway Patrol, Utah
  • 2nd place — Craig Baker — Wilkes County School, North Carolina
  • 3rd place — Michael Schreiner — Apple Valley USD, California
  • 1st Place — Jeremiah Bradberry — Cobb County School District, Georgia
  • 2nd Place — Larry Horton — East Peoria School District, Illinois
  • 3rd Place — Michael Brewer — Carmel Unified School, California
The 2017 event hosted 25 participants representing 16 states and one Canadian province. Congratulations to all participants on a job well done!